common: support custom, extra information for build's version
authorPhilippe Proulx <eeppeliteloop@gmail.com>
Tue, 21 Jan 2020 14:55:43 +0000 (09:55 -0500)
committerPhilippe Proulx <eeppeliteloop@gmail.com>
Tue, 21 Jan 2020 19:30:19 +0000 (14:30 -0500)
commit89e18e1e122b1f1ac796bf47e4b86021fd2d1d42
tree3ac2a0c5c265103eb6b9baf5a94c3457607d87f1
parent2671dfad32dfd51f43560dc19d69dc0b54f3cd2a
common: support custom, extra information for build's version

This patch adds a system of extra version information also found in
LTTng-tools.

`src/common/Makefile` generates `src/common/version.i` at every build.
This file contains:

* The current Git revision description.

* Extra name of the version (found in `version/extra_version_name`).

* Extra description of the version (found in
  `version/extra_version_description`).

* A list of patch file names found in `version/extra_patches`.

All definitions can be empty strings.

See `version/README.adoc` to learn more.

As of this patch, libbabeltrace2 does not offer getters for this data
and the CLI does not print it with the `--version` option. This is
reserved for subsequent patches.

Signed-off-by: Philippe Proulx <eeppeliteloop@gmail.com>
Change-Id: Ife50e5bcaa6b3bdeda6ee4e7c1fdeb2fb1f63887
Reviewed-on: https://review.lttng.org/c/babeltrace/+/2836
Reviewed-by: Francis Deslauriers <francis.deslauriers@efficios.com>
Reviewed-by: Michael Jeanson <mjeanson@efficios.com>
Tested-by: jenkins <jenkins@lttng.org>
.gitignore
Makefile.am
src/cli/babeltrace2-cfg-cli-args.c
src/common/Makefile.am
version/README.adoc [new file with mode: 0644]
version/extra_patches/README.adoc [new file with mode: 0644]
This page took 0.033104 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.