LTTng-live usage documentation
authorJulien Desfossez <jdesfossez@efficios.com>
Mon, 10 Feb 2014 23:50:40 +0000 (18:50 -0500)
committerMathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Tue, 11 Feb 2014 00:36:23 +0000 (19:36 -0500)
Signed-off-by: Julien Desfossez <jdesfossez@efficios.com>
Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
doc/Makefile.am
doc/lttng-live.txt [new file with mode: 0644]

index 6077f6232f096646f3bba32198a9f95d02cb6b72..782d7d14696eb66edafde72e32b2f3f7cff92ebd 100644 (file)
@@ -1,5 +1,5 @@
 dist_man_MANS = babeltrace.1 babeltrace-log.1
 
-dist_doc_DATA = API.txt
+dist_doc_DATA = API.txt lttng-live.txt
 
 EXTRA_DIST = development.txt
diff --git a/doc/lttng-live.txt b/doc/lttng-live.txt
new file mode 100644 (file)
index 0000000..2c2a072
--- /dev/null
@@ -0,0 +1,27 @@
+LTTNG LIVE
+----------
+
+This is a brief howto for using the Babeltrace with LTTng live protocol.
+LTTng live allows the user to read a trace while it is running.
+
+In order to create a live LTTng session, please refer to the LTTng
+documentation (version >= 2.4).
+
+Once the session is created and Babeltrace is installed, you can list the
+sessions with :
+$ babeltrace -i lttng-live net://<your-relayd-hostname>
+
+The output should look like this :
+net://localhost/host/myhostname/mysessionname (timer = 1000000, 5 stream(s), 0 client(s) connected)
+
+It means that the session mysessionname on the host myhostname is currently
+streaming its data to the relayd on localhost.
+
+To attach to this session and start receiving the trace :
+$ babeltrace -i lttng-live net://localhost/host/myhostname/mysessionname
+
+You should now see trace data flowing in your console when events are produced.
+
+To report bugs, please use the same procedure as reporting bugs to Babeltrace,
+but don't forget to add the -v to the commands above to provide enough debug
+information.
This page took 0.033746 seconds and 4 git commands to generate.