Docs: document the format of the lttng_session path member
authorJérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Fri, 22 Mar 2019 21:51:14 +0000 (17:51 -0400)
committerJérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Thu, 28 Mar 2019 14:34:23 +0000 (10:34 -0400)
commitbeede00c4c60130c7689231b2dd4cb61a6aae34f
tree37ed31406f6511685931f22b49817792dac75dca
parent1aacaae2baa854d47e2d80c0bc2c50c31eb2202a
Docs: document the format of the lttng_session path member

Document that the path returned through a session listing operation
is not a path nor standard URL. While a UNIX path will be returned
when a session is configured to trace locally, a liblttng-ctl user
should not expect this field to contain a valid URL when a network
streaming (or live) output destination is configured. The "path"
field will hold a custom-formatted string describing the output.

This is arguably unexepected, but since this is currently the only
way to obtain the destination of an existing session, this format
will not be changed to preserve compatiblity with existing tools
which could rely on this format.

A description of the formating used by the session daemon is
added as part of this patch.

Signed-off-by: Jérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
include/lttng/session.h
This page took 0.037283 seconds and 5 git commands to generate.