Silence bogus warning when building with old GCC versions
authorJérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Mon, 25 Nov 2019 22:54:07 +0000 (17:54 -0500)
committerJérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Mon, 25 Nov 2019 22:57:35 +0000 (17:57 -0500)
gcc version 7.4.0 (and possibly others) warn that `new_handle`
may be used uninitialized. It is not clear what code path would
trigger this uninitialized use.

Moreover, the warning is not present when building with recent
versions of gcc and clang, nor is it flagged by Coverity. This points
to the warning being bogus.

Still, setting `new_handle` to NULL silences the warning on this
gcc version.

Signed-off-by: Jérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
tests/unit/test_fd_tracker.c

index fe14e9c5cf26417972a964c2747c9d9c9fb10d9d..a6a2a44d2a4bf45ff2b8cdee04f5919254917f25 100644 (file)
@@ -666,7 +666,7 @@ void test_unlink(void)
        char tmp_path_pattern[] = TMP_DIR_PATTERN;
        const char *output_dir;
        struct fs_handle *handles[handles_to_open];
-       struct fs_handle *new_handle;
+       struct fs_handle *new_handle = NULL;
        char *file_path;
        char *unlinked_file_path;
        char *unlinked_file_path_suffix;
This page took 0.038055 seconds and 5 git commands to generate.