Increase LTTNG_HOST_NAME_MAX from 64 to 255
authorJérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Sat, 7 Apr 2018 20:04:51 +0000 (16:04 -0400)
committerJérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
Sat, 7 Apr 2018 20:07:28 +0000 (16:07 -0400)
POSIX guarantees that a host name will not exceed 255 characters.
Moreover, RFC 1035 limits the length of a fully qualified domain name (FQDN)
to 255 characters.

This limit will be used as part of the lttngctl communication
protocol.

Signed-off-by: Jérémie Galarneau <jeremie.galarneau@efficios.com>
include/lttng/constant.h

index 00074a2e43ec2ba68c0652f2991ab9b74fd39bf8..1235c346f5432865d18fe4c134cf4dfdd10e1b92 100644 (file)
 
 #define LTTNG_NAME_MAX                         255
 
-#define LTTNG_HOST_NAME_MAX                    64
+/*
+ * POSIX guarantees that a host name will not exceed 255 characters.
+ * Moreover, RFC 1035 limits the length of a fully qualified domain name (FQDN)
+ * to 255 characters.
+ *
+ * 256 is used to include a trailing NULL character.
+ */
+#define LTTNG_HOST_NAME_MAX                    256
 
 #define LTTNG_PATH_MAX                         4096
 
This page took 0.036138 seconds and 5 git commands to generate.